Allen's Zoo


Interface
May 10, 2012, 7:18 pm
Filed under: Photo's | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Pictured above for those of you who don’t know, the keeper of Allen’s Zoo exploring one of my favorite places.

I saw something while exploring the intertidal zone today I’m not likely to see for a while again if at all. While looking at the usually seen inhabitants, (hermit crabs, starfish, sea urchins) I rounded a rock and saw what I initially thought was the largest starfish I’d ever seen. It was about two and a half feet long (.7 meters). My mind making sense of something I’d never seen in the wild. Then realized then it wasn’t a starfish. It was a Pacific Octopus. I recognized the coloration from images in books I’ve used as reference. Although I know they happen around these ocean zones I didn’t know if it was still alive. It was not in water. I reached for my camera then remembered took the batteries out yesterday as they needed to be replaced. I then thought it probably wasn’t alive and waiting for the tide like the other things in the intertidal zone. I thought it’d be sad to photograph it then.

Also……Happy Mothers Day mom and all moms.

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

lol, how lovely you are!

Comment by Fiona.q

Thank you Fiona! :)

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Manipal..thanks!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL PLACE ! OH MY GOSH I WAS

SURPRISED TO SEE A GREETING TO ME , I FEEL SPECIAL

I LOVE YOU—– MOM XX OO

Comment by MOM

I LOVE YOU TOO MOM.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you James!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Eve, Chloe & Vidal!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hey, it’s you! :D
Wow, that octopus must’ve been a sight!!

Comment by Cafe

Hi Janice, It was a sight! :)

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Allen’s Zoo? I might have to have a look myself. Sounds like a great place. I am sorry about the dead Pacific Octopus, but I guess that is life – if I can put it that way. I love your sense of self-irony.

Comment by munchow

Thanks Otto..for both. I wonder from time to time if anyone notices my irony. Guess it takes a person of some sensitivity.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

wonderful pic…greetings from India!

Comment by Personal Concerns

Thank you Personal Concerns. The same back to you from America!

Comment by Allen Capoferri




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,197 other followers

