Allen's Zoo


Sketchbook: More Scenes From a Library

Sketchbook: More Scenes From a Library by 9567Sketchbook: More Scenes From a Library, a photo by 9567 on Flickr.
This page from my sketchbook has a cute story behind it. While I was at the library they happened to be having a children’s show. I thought it a perfect time to sketch children. As I sketched the boy his mother who was walking around the crowd of children noticed I sketched him. She went over to him and discreetly told him. A short while later he walked by me and took a quick glance. All very discreet.
26 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Antonio..thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Intriguing: both the sketch and the situation!

Comment by Personal Concerns

Thank you! Amazing the situations you could find yourself in just sketching people. The stories I have. I would’ve never thought.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

I do realise that Allen! :)

Comment by Personal Concerns

I’m not surprised you do :D

Comment by Allen Capoferri

x-(

Comment by Personal Concerns

Thank you S.Trent, Brad, W3t Paint, Cuzicoyor and Lorraine!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Cool Gravatar S. Trent.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Karen and Cristian..thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Awww so cute =P
Nice sketch, Allen, as always! :)

Comment by Cafe

Hi Janice! Thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Otto.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

I don’t suppose sketching children in public is anything like as controversial as photographing them…

Comment by Kim Ayres

Interesting point and very good comment. No I wouldn’t think so and of course sheds light on a photographer’s difficulties. Although I’ve had some things happen to me while innocently sketching people that, as I mention in a comment above, I would never have guessed.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

could you explain a bit more about “discreet”? i guess that’s the key of your story :D

Comment by Fiona.q

Hi Fiona, Discreet means; intentionally unobtrusive. I thought it was charming/ cute. Hope you understand.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

got it. so you dont prefer them walking straight to you, looking at what you have drawn and having a little chat? ;)

Comment by Fiona.q

I’d prefer the former (discreet). Also..I’d rather draw.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Ronnie!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Joy..thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Interesting visual observation and idea. The question of course if there is a deeper truth to this coincidence. Obviously both wear a uniform of sorts, to tell the world they belong to a special brotherhood, whether consciously or not. But does it say anything about subordinating oneself to a larger master?

Comment by munchow

These are questions I ask myself of people around me and of myself. Remembering when I was that age once and wearing bell bottoms makes it easier answer. We are very social animals and I think we fear to some degree rejection. I feel it’s something of both belonging to a group and a subordination of self as you mention.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Rumpy…thanks again!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

I’m in love with your blog :D

Comment by Mein Hoon Tician

Thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

:)

Comment by Mein Hoon Tician




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,454 other followers

