Allen's Zoo


A Moment of Drama
October 21, 2012, 6:12 pm
Filed under: Photo's | Tags: , , , , , , ,

A Moment of Drama by 9567
A Moment of Drama, a photo by 9567 on Flickr.

I took this photo yesterday about prime time, meaning prime time light, what little there was. People were having family picnics on benches just in front of me. They seemed oblivious or at least uninterested in the show the sky was putting on.

Last night I woke just before midnight. I lay in bed around ten minutes before I felt a motion. I thought “Is this one of those moments I’m feeling involuntary body movement?” The movement pretty quickly became pronounced. Although not very strong it was strong enough and lasted at least a minute or two. When done I looked at the clock next to my bed. It was 11:55pm. This earthquake could be called the Halloween earthquake…unless of course we have another before then.

When I woke I remembered dreaming of a tsunami. I then remembered reading an article about dreams. A theory that the significance dreams had was a survival mechanism in a sense to warn us of danger. Guess a tsunami could happen although I don’t know if there’s a danger of a tsunami this particular time. I think I’ll avoid walking too close to the shoreline though.

32 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s striking Allen!

It is interesting that the reasons behind people’s obliviousness or disinterestedness in a sight as this are equally intriguing. In the words of one of my Profs. “Random is the order of the Universe”!!

What is special however about these sights is that they can have such an arresting effect that we lose sight of all others and focus on one of them in particular.

Sorry for the nuisance and the rambling. One of those moments when randomness just flows to the screen from the keyboard.

In short: I liked this post and the accompanying message you wrote. Made me imagine and think!
;)

Comment by Personal Concerns

I’ve always found, as you know this disinterestedness worth questioning. It makes me imagine…think. I’m pretty sure although not certain it’s what makes some artists and others not.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Personal Concerns…thank you. And thank you Words Fusion!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

My comments disappear from your blog!
:(

Comment by Personal Concerns

This time I’m here to make certain they don’t disappear. I don’t know why it’s happening. I’m going to check to see if there’s a reason and fix it.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Sophie!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Antonio…thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Quillan and Angela!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Anto and Sixpuns!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Ron..thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Atelier!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Rita!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Wow, an earthquake! Yikes.
There is a moodiness in that sky, Allen.
It looks cold, a though it could be winter; almost like snow on the ground. Beautiful, though.

Comment by drawandshoot

That was the third earthquake I experienced and nothing has been so bad…yet.
It does look like it could be cold. If I still lived back east I think I’d imagine the same easily but the weather here this time of year is unusually mild. I was wearing a medium thick cotton sweater over a T-shirt.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

OH MY GOD !! ARE YOU SAFE ? I THINK IT WOULD DO NO GOOD TO JUST NOT WALK A SHORE LINE

IT WOULD BE TOO LATE . ARE YOU STILL A STRONG SWIMMER ?

AARON’S COMPUTER BROKE DOWN ,THE ONE @ THE FARM .

LOVE YA MOM XX OO PS IS THAT A RAILING , IN LOWER PART OF PHOTO ?

Comment by Sherrard Robert

HI MOM, I’M FINE…IT WASN’T A VERY STRONG QUAKE. I HAVEN’T SWAM SO LONG I’M CERTAIN I’M NOT A STRONG SWIMMER ANYMORE BUT I DIDN’T WALK AND I THINK IT WASN’T A STRONG ENOUGH QUAKE. I JUST GOT AN EMAIL FROM THEM THAT THE COMPUTER’S DOWN.
THAT’S A PIER IN THE LOWER PART OF THE PHOTO.
LOVE ALLEN

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Patrick, Janice, Leanne, Sophie and Voiletski!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Allen! Thanks for your recent visit to my blog :)
I hope you will leave a 10-word-or-less description of your blog on my new page: http://yourdailydoseblog.com/2012/10/11/a-page-dedicated-to-my-readers-your-blogs-please-help-me-finish-it-by-describing-your-blog-in-10-words-or-less/
so ppl can know what your blog is about. Thanks!

Comment by Cafe

Hi Janice,
Sure…I’m considering what to say. Can’t imagine why I’d need to think about it.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Andrea..thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Matiss!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

lool, i love you sharing about your dreams!

Comment by Fiona.q

Hi Fiona, Guess they do say something about ourselves, our hopes, aspirations…fears. I had an interesting one last night. Interesting enough to write it down.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Otto & Elena..thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Fernando!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Manu…thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

There is really an interesting interplay between the words and the picture. As if the picture was part of your dream – and the thoughts around earth quake and tsunamis. The picture hold that mysterious feeling of a different dimension. I love that you cut the beach so close to the edge of the frame. A very nice post.

Comment by munchow

Thank you Otto. It congealed in a manner reflective of how you explain the creative process on your blog..and as I so often experience.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thanks again Tuttacronaca!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thanks again Nalun!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m no longer sure whether this submit is written via him as no one else recognise such particular approximately my difficulty. You are amazing! Thank you!

Comment by fat burners

Thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,189 other followers

