Allen's Zoo


Cafe sketching…Tales from the Dark Side

Cafe sketching...Tales from the Dark Side by 9567
Cafe sketching…Tales from the Dark Side, a photo by 9567 on Flickr.

Yes I’m still alive should anyone have wondered why I hadn’t posted for so long. I may have mentioned, I’ve always been a people watcher as long as I can remember. So it was a natural evolution to sketch people in their surroundings. Lately I’ve had more of an opportunity to draw people from life.

I only really began drawing people in their surroundings, not posing in a room full of people to draw or paint, since graduating from Art Center College. I found I prefer it. Although I should say drawing from a posing model, clothed and unclothed, was a valuable ingredient in my education.

Since cafe sketching, I’ve had some interesting communication with people who were hyper aware. But mostly it’s an art of “taking a mental snapshot”, as was the case of the sketch of the intense gentleman above and the subject was none the wiser.

38 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you “Scotch” Jameson, Bud Glory, Izms of Art and Cristo!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

great! looks a bit like an aging Fabio – ‘The Most Beautiful Man In The World’

Comment by Christian

Thank you, Christian! Someone else said something similar to that…coincidentally.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Too tones bored and Elin!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Biljana!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thanks, Rebecca and Marcos!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Nice to have you back! I understand disappearing from the blogosphere – things do get busy! Love the drawing!

Comment by willwander

Thank you Mallory! It’s good to be back especially with a person like you in the blogosphere. Congratulations again on your beautiful-blogger-award nomination.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

That’s a wonderful drawing, Allen. It’s nice to hear a bit about your process.

Comment by drawandshoot

Thanks Karen!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, G.E. Gallas, Rik, Killkaties, Annika, Anne, Artemotion2012, Michael and Cleto!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

haha! it’s crazy to know that this guy actually exists lol. he is totally intense. looks like a character out of a comic series or something :)

Comment by Cafe

Hi Janice! Thanks. That’s exactly what I thought!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Otto and Elena..thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

So glad you’re still alive – I’ve been missing your posts and comments! :)

Comment by Kim Ayres

Hi Kim, Thank you! It’s good to be back and hear a familiar voice.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Muhammad Amin and Bente!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Hyver, thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Claudia!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Nice sketch!

Comment by firefang316

Thanks Firefang316!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you Kidlat!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Dalton and Summer!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Personal Concerns, thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thanx for checking out my blog. Your Illustrations and photos are pretty cool.

Comment by darryl3027

Pretty cool or pretty okay?

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, UrbanBilingual!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Peglegdesigns!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Marcelo!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Another one of your almost scary viking types. I guess I should feel comfortable around him, coming from Norway I mean. I am not quite sure about that, although he might be the sweetest man on earth.

Comment by munchow

Hi Otto, That’s funny…he does look like another one of those scary viking types you may feel comfortable around. Although I should say I ran into him again, or should I say he into me, literally. He really is not a nice guy, at least on the outside.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thanks again, Mr Waddle655!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Clémence!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Lianna!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Lespersonnage, thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Caitlin!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Everett…thanks again!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Jazmine!

Comment by Allen Capoferri




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,487 other followers

