Allen's Zoo


SeaBass

seabass2

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Andrea and Noir33, thank you.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, WellDressedGeek and Robert!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Paige, Thorsten, and Theadora, thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

:)

Comment by Kim Ayres

Hi Kim, thanks! :D

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Michele, Thierry, Cecile, Bente, Aaron, Antonio, Markus Mareike, Claudia, and Kirsty, thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

I love the shading underneath–gives it more depth. Here’s a question for you: when you draw a fish, what do you start with?

Comment by Dadicus Grinch

It may be surprising…
I first think of bringing character to it…making it believable or bringing it to life. Caricaturing and shapes are important for what I want to say about it. It’s important to know what fish look like (the anatomy), I’m constantly going back to reference but rarely have it in front of me while I’m drawing.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thanks, Kelly!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Renata and Flying Grandpa, thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Allen, I was snorkeling around angelfish, bonefish, nurse sharks etc. while I was in the tropics and they have as much personality as your fantastic sketches. Do you snorkel or go diving?

Comment by drawandshoot

Yes. I have a fond memory of snorkeling on vacation at the Cayman Islands. I had a skin diving class when I was a child. I remember my elation when I was able to clear my diving mask of water under the water.
Sounds like you had a great time too…quite a contrast to the weather back home as well.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Otto and Thalia, thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

fierce! :)

Comment by La valise de louise

Thanks, Louise. :D

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thank you, Alexandra!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thanks, Michael.

Comment by Allen Capoferri




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,486 other followers

