Allen's Zoo


Beeing There

beescopy

Done in the car while waiting for the library to open. Bees were pollinating purple flowers next to me.

I’d like to share something I think is fun. The reaction I get from people when I’m out drawing or painting. When not in my car more often than not reactions are positive, like the Starbucks barista, saying he thought it cool. Occasionally my experiences are, let’s just say a bit awkward. Even so they’re often something I look back on with a smile, as they reflect the understanding of the person it’s coming from. On one occasion where I was drawing at coffee shop, a woman sat at the table next to me accompanied by her two children. As they were getting ready to leave she mentioned she was an artist too. She shook my hand and introduced herself. I noticed while one of her children had gone, the other had walked behind me (between myself and the wall). Mom noticed and noticed I noticed. As she and I continued our conversation, her daughter then got on one side of her and put both hands on her mother’s hip and began pushing. “Let’s go… I thought we were going to go.” I had said, “I guess she’s a bit protective. I remember my daughter was that way sometimes.” When her mother tried to continue talking her daughter came next to me, crossed her arms in front of her and said, nodding to my sketchbook I’d now closed, “Did you draw that?” I said “What,” opening it, “You mean this?” She then nodded over to a magazine on the nearby table and said “You copied that”. I said, “No, these are people who were here. I drew them.” Mind you, she was maybe nine or ten years old. By then mom was ready go. I could only smile. Happy Mothers Day.

 

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you, Mike, Thorsten, Sarah, Julia, Palmira, Crazy Green Thumbs, Amy and Mathew.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Otto, Snoring Dog Studio, Michael, and Andrea thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Good to hear some of your experiences, as well as see your creations :)

Comment by Kim Ayres

Thanks, Kim. Now that my writing’s improving I’m more apt to share some of these kinds of experiences.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Thanks, everyone!

Comment by Allen Capoferri

A neat story, Allen. Love the landscape full of life!

Comment by drawandshoot

Landscape with Spring. Thank you, Karen. :)

Comment by Allen Capoferri

A bet you get all kinds of reaction. I enjoyed this little story about one of these experiences. Cool drawing, too. :-)

Comment by Otto von Münchow

Yes I do. I’ll bet you do too! Thanks, Otto. :)

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi Willy, thanks.

Comment by Allen Capoferri

Hi David…thank you!

Comment by Allen Capoferri




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,370 other followers

